The Famine Garden – A national garden of remembrance for all those who died of fever, hunger and starvation during the Irish famine. Open all year round. Free admission. For a conducted tour of the garden contact 086-8394349
Kells Priory - Kells Priory is one of the largest and also one of the most magnificent medieval historic monuments in Ireland.
Carrickshock Monument - A monument built to commerate an event in history. An event known as the Battle of Carrickshock which occurred in an isolated road in the south Kilkenny townland in December 1831; an armed police column, which was protecting the ‘Proctor’, Edmond Butler, as he collected a tithe to support the local Protestant clergy – a tithe to which the locals vehemently objected – clashed with a large crowd, which resulted in the deaths of 17 people, 13 of whom were members of the constabulary.
Jerpoint Abbey - An outstanding Cistercian abbey founded in the second half of the 12th century. The church with its Romanesque details dates from this period. In the transept chapels the visitor can see 13th and 16th century tomb sculpture. The tower and cloister date from the 15th century. The chief delight of the Abbey is the sculptured cloister arcade with unique carvings. The Visitor Centre houses an interesting exhibition. Access for visitors with disabilities. Guided tours available. Contact 056 7724623.
Kilfane Glen and Waterfall – One of Ireland’s most beautiful secluded, enchanted gardens. Stroll around the woodland paths, enjoy the quiet, sitting in the shade of the thatched cottage órne watching the water fall down a carved rock face. Open 11am – 6pm 1st July – 31st Aug. Admission 7 euro. Contact 056 - 7724558
Mosse Pottery – From their studio in Bennetsbridge watch a range of beautiful pottery being hand crafted and decorated. Inspired by the rural surroundings, the patterns capture the charm of Irish country living and bring it straight to your home. The on site shop allows you to purchase these beautiful products.
Nore Valley Open Farm - Nore Valley Park has operated as an open farm and caravan park since 1989 and attracts many families and groups each year. There are a whole variety of animals to see and enjoy. Baby kids and lambs are bottle fed and rabbits can be handled. As well as animals to see there is a playground, sandpit with diggers, straw play area and Giant chess. Additional attractions for all age groups include Pedal go-karts, Crazy golf , Indoor 3D Maze and Trailer Rides. A small tuck / Souvenir shop is available with Tea/coffee To Go and home baked specialties. Opening Times: March - October, Mon - Sat, 9am - 6pm. Closed Sundays
Warrington Horse Riding Centre – Here they offer riding lessons to all levels of riders from beginners to advanced. A variety of horses and ponies are available to suit all riders capabilities. To book lessons or for more information contact 056 – 7722682.
Mountain View Golf Course - Mountain View Golf Club offers the exciting challenge of all year round golf with two spectacular lakes on its fascinating golf course. It consists of eighteen superb holes with excellent panoramic views of the areas in the vicinity. Founded in 1997, the club is quite young compared to other contemporary golf clubs but it has already gained quite a reputation as an excellent place to enjoy an exciting game of golf. For booking contact 056 7768122.
Mount Juliet Golf Course – Mount Juliet Golf Course opened in 1991. The beautiful and challenging Mount Juliet golf course has established itself as a premier golfing venue for top professionals and leisure golfers worldwide. Set in a world of its own on lush parkland in the south east of Ireland, mount Juliet’s Jack Nicklaus course is both captivating and memorable. For more information and bookings contact 056- 7773010.
Kiltorcan Raceway – Karting at any level is challenging, exhilarating fun. They operate a 1000 metre super smooth, all weather floodlit track and supply everything you need for a fantastic driving experience. Whether new to the sport, or an old hand with loads of experience Kiltorcan Raceway offers the buzz of a lifetime. For more details contact 087-24464872.
Inistioge – Inistioge is a beautiful and historical village on the river Nore in South Kilkenny. Its special character has made it one of the most visited places in the South East of Ireland for many decades. Nestling in the Nore valley it offers some of the best scenery in the region particularly in the recently restored gardens of the Woodstock Estate. There is lots to do and when you tire of river paths and woodland hikes you can choose to eat and drink in one of the excellent restaurants and pubs in the village.
This superb castle is located on elevated ground beside the river at the south-eastern end of the city. The castle was built in the thirteenth century on the site of an earlier fort. However, the present building is vastly different from the stronghold erected by Strongbow in the middle ages. Despite this, the present structure retains the architectural lines of a medieval castle. The building forms three sides of a quadrangle, with three of the four original round towers intact. The Butlers, the Earls of Ormonde (an Hibernicised Norman clan), occupied the castle from the fourteenth century onwards. In modern times, the castle has been restored to its former glory by the state, and was officially open to the public in 1976. There is an exhibition hall open to the public in the Old Castle Stables.
Kilkenny Castle provides guided tours, an art gallery, a café during summer, extensive grounds and a childrens play area.
NATIONAL CRAFTS GALLERY
The National Crafts Gallery is located in Castle Yard directly across from Kilkenny Castle. This gallery was initiated by the Crafts Council of Ireland with the objective of stimulating an innovative and quality design ethos in the Irish crafts sector. The gallery boasts an impressive range of craft exhibitions that successfully communicate and showcase the cultural and commercial attributes of the craft sector in Ireland.
SHEE ALMS HOUSE
Shee Alms House is situated in Rose Inn Street and was founded in 1582 by Sir Richard Shee. The purpose of these institutions was to take care of the poor, and this Tudor Alms House is one of the last remaining buildings of its type still in existence in Ireland. The building has been recently restored and now accommodates the Kilkenny Tourist Office.
This central Kilkenny landmark dates from 1761. Erected by Alderman William Colles, the Thosel served as the market for the city (the word 'thosel' means literally a marketplace). Architecturally, the building has a double length arcade with an impressive Georgian Council Chamber room positioned above the arcade. There is a clock tower on the steeply pitched roof, and the southern wall contains the Kilkenny coat of arms. The original building was badly damaged after a fire in 1987, but has since been completely restored, and now serves as the City Hall.
This magnificent sixteenth century Tudor town house is situated on Parliament Street. Built in 1594 by John Rothe, the building consists of three houses with courtyards. Rothe House currently houses the museum and library of the Kilkenny Archaeological Society. Within the museum there are a number of exhibits including period costume displays and a genealogical centre.
ST. MARY'S CATHEDRAL
The cathedral is situated on James's Street, and dates from the mid nineteenth century. The building is accessible from the Black Abbey via Black Mill Street. St. Mary's boasts a 200ft high tower and superbly carved altars
William Marshall (Earl of Pembroke) founded the Black Abbey in 1225 for the Dominicans. This impressive building is situated on Abbey Street, and features a tower and some magnificent windows dating from the original the original structure. The Dominican abbey was dissolved in the sixteenth century and subsequently became a courthouse. Fortunately, the abbey was restored to its former glory in the nineteenth century enabling it to be reopened as a church. At the Abbey entrance, one can find a series of monumental slabs and stone coffins dating from the middle ages.
BLACK FREREN GATE
Black Freren Gate is located in close proximity to the Black Abbey on Abbey Street. This landmark is the sole existing remnant of the entrance gates in the medieval city walls.
ST. FRANCIS'S ABBEY
William Marshall (Earl of Pembroke) founded St. Francis's Abbey in the thirteenth century. In recent years, the Abbey has been the oratory of Smithwick's Brewery, famous for 'Smithwicks' and 'Kilkenny' ales. The building features a bell tower, a Chancel, and the superb east window. In the sixteenth century the Abbey was possessed by the state and given to the corporation. Fortunately, the building has been completely renovated in recent years.
ST. CANICE'S CATHEDRAL
St. Canice's was erected in the thirteenth century, and is accessible from Irishtown via St. Canice's Steps. The cathedral features a magnificent tower that offers impressive views of the city. The cathedral evolved over the centuries and was unfortunately damaged by Oliver Cromwell's troops in the seventeenth century. This Kilkenny landmark features a fascinating collection of monuments and tombs dating from the Tudor era.
KILKENNY COURTHOUSE (formerly Grace's Castle)
Kilkenny Courthouse formerly known as Grace's Castle is presently used for sittings of the Circuit and District Courts.The site was originally a town house of the wealthy Grace family who leased the building to the crown in 1566. Used as a jail from 1566, it was transformed into a courthouse around the end of the 18th century.
This was our favorite B&B. We absolutely loved the owner, Mavis and her husband, who were so sweet & sincere. We enjoyed the farm, the animals, and the rustic setting. We would love to go back. Also, delicious breakfast and backed goods upon arrival!
Kerry L Newark, Delaware, United States